How to Add Your Venmo QR Code to Apple Wallet

Sach S.
3 min readJun 1, 2021

--

Backstory:

I went to a rooftop restaurant with my friends that I haven't seen in over a year. After finishing our meal, I decided to put my card down to pay the check. When I opened my Venmo app to request money from everyone, viewing my QR code was a bit inconvenient. I spent around 30 seconds getting it to view. I had a friend who went to the bathroom and once he was back, I had to open the Venmo app again. I felt like there should be fewer steps to show my personal QR code. Especially, people, you don’t have down as Venmo friends and rarely transact. I knew opening Apple Wallet only took a second, by double-clicking the power button. I decided to place my Venmo QR code in my Apple Wallet, so it's more convenient.

How-to Steps:

  1. Open the Venmo App
  2. Click on your profile icon on the far top left of your screen

3. Click the QR code icon

4. Go to https://webqr.com/ on a computer and show your QR code to the camera

5. Copy the QR code URL (example: https://venmo.com/code?user_id=1995413871656960222)

6. Go to https://www.passsource.com/

7. Click the Create button

8. Click *Generic Pass

9. On the Register page: fill out “Primary Label”, “Background Color”, “Foreground Color”, “Barcode Format”, “Barcode Message”, “images_thumbnail”, “images_thumbnail@2x”

10. Primary Label: Venmo

11. Background Color: #b9e7ff

12. Foreground Color: #ffffff

13. Barcode Format: QR

14. Barcode Message: https://venmo.com/code?user_id=1995413871656960222

15. images_thumbnail: select a profile image (if a photo is not selected, a random photo will be chosen)

16. images_thumbnail@2x: select a profile image (if a photo is not selected, a random photo will be chosen)

17. Click the Register button

18. Right-click on the “Add to Apple Wallet” button and select “Copy Link address

19. Paste the link address in an Email/Social/iMessage and forward it to yourself (FYI: Macbook users can text the link address in iMessage to yourself)

20. Check your Email or Text and Open the link address on your iPhone

21. Click Add

22. Go to your Apple Wallet and check that your Venmo Card has been added

23. Test it with your friends!

--

--